Home > Off Blog > Voices from Occupy Wall Street posted to Gonzo Times

Voices from Occupy Wall Street posted to Gonzo Times

I am posting a series of interviews I did last weekend at the Occupy Wall Street event in New York City. I want to present these interviews to folks not because I think the folks I interviewed have profound insight into this event, but because I think they are authentic voices of the event itself.

I went down to New York City with a desire to see the action for myself, unfiltered — to understand, based on the opinions of the participants themselves, just what they were trying to accomplish with their action. My questions were simple and direct: Why are you here? What do you do? Why did you choose to protest on Wall Street and not in Washington? How do you think Wall Street effects it control over American politics? How did you get to the point where you decided to take action? Who are the influential voices in political development, e.g., who do you read?

I had hoped to understand both the strengths and limitations of the event without inserting myself into the discussion. Therefore, I had no agenda, no goal beyond listening, no opinion on the topics the participant spoke to. I think the result can be very enlightening both for similar events now planned or in progress in various cities around the country.

You find the interviews here

  1. Threecrow
    October 2, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    The 21 year old guy. Wow. This young man makes us, or, should make us work hard to fill in the blanks of the rhythm and the reason of his speech. He may not have command of the language or the spoken word as yet, but one cannot but be moved by this young man and his passion for justice in this world. He alone is one. He with comrades in every corner of the world, together, can begin to sweep away walls of oppression. I choose to believe in this young man and envy him his youth, his courage, his commitment to seek a newer world.
    The interviewer is doing us a service here in bringing us to the front of something vaguely forming but feels like “something great before the end.”

    Threecrow

    • October 3, 2011 at 7:08 pm

      Thanks Threecrow — I wanted their voices to be heard without filters.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

